Archived Story

Hall new chairwoman for IOW board

Published 11:29am Thursday, January 3, 2013

ISLE OF WIGHT—Isle of Wight County Supervisors JoAnn Hall and Byron Bailey are expected to be named chairwoman and vice chairman, respectively, during an organizational meeting today.

Hall, who represents the Hardy district, has been serving as vice chairwoman. Al Casteen of the Smithfield District has been chairman.

Bailey represents the Newport district.

“We feel it’s fair. Everyone gets a turn,” said Casteen about the change in leadership.



    Congratulations Mrs. Hall! Wishing you all the best in 2013. You have a big responsibility ahead of you and a mess to clean up after the last chairman. The citizens of IoW now know why the previous board kept him from being chair in the past. I hope that you do what is right for the citizens of IoW and not make decisions on the “next election.” This has been an issue locally, statewide, and at the national level …everyone wants to get “reelected” instead of doing what is right for their constituents, the locality, the state, and the nation.

    Suggest Removal

Editor's Picks